Iglesia de Santiago, Cádiz
The Church of Santiago de Cádiz, located in the Plaza de la Catedral, hosted the College of the Society of Jesus in this city, where today only the church remains. After the assault and sacking of the city of Cadiz in 1596 by the Anglo-Dutch troops under the Earl of Essex, the College was in such bad shape that the primitive temple had to be rebuilt, now in the Mannerist style pioneered by Vignola for the Gesu in Rome and then followed the general approach of the great majority of the Jesuit churches.
In a Latin cross plan, with a wide nave and transept with a dome on pendentives, it has small chapels that communicate with each other in what would be the aisles of the temple. Traces of this church, in 1635, are the work of Jesuit brother Alonso Romero, extending the execution of the works for about twelve years. The main facade is located at the foot toward the sides of the Cathedral and presents organized by Ionic pilasters made with the usual, so characteristic of this city oyster stone. It has two marble portals in the Mannerist style, one facing the square and the other facing the streets of Santiago and a corner tower two stories high, octagonal top and finished in a unique dome bulbous top, eighteenth century work. The interior houses a number of interesting baroque altarpieces of the seventeenth century; the most relevant is the altarpiece, the work of master assembler Alejandro Saavedra, a gilded and polychromed work by Juan Gómez Couto.